bodybygear

What Does the Weekend Mean For You?

Posted on: August 21, 2011

Good morning, everyone! It is a relatively nice Sunday morning here in the Gear household. I just prepared breakfast for the family, and I’m digesting my breakfast before I get started with my goals for the day. I apologize for not getting a post up yesterday, but between my workout, kids being home, and work last night, it was a busy day!

So what do you usually do with your weekend? My weekends are typically busier than my weekdays because my kids are home and I usually work at least one, if not two, evenings. Yesterday, I made sure I got a great arm workout in – I really honed in on my biceps and triceps. Since I had done a shoulder, chest, and back workout the day before, I was definitely still sore in those areas! Now that it’s Sunday, I’m feeling my arms a bit, but since I worked them the other day, I think they’re getting a little used to the strength training. Guess I’ll just have to work them even HARDER next week!

Sunday is typically my cheat/rest day. It’s too busy in the house to get a good workout in, and I like to have at least one day where I can get things done around the house. I even started to do some squats this morning … and then I said screw it and went to make breakfast :) If I had kept on exercising, we wouldn’t have eaten until noon! I don’t want to make the kids wait THAT long!

So what did I have for breakfast? On Sundays, I go all out for myself on sweet things I wouldn’t normally eat – BUT with a healthy twist! Silly me for not getting a photo, but let me tell you, I am stuffed. I made a microwaveable (YES, in the microwave) cinnamon protein cake! I gleaned a recipe off another great blog, The Great Balancing Act, and tweaked the ingredients like she recommended. Here’s what I ended up using:

Cinnamon Protein Microwave Cake
2 scoops vanilla whey protein
1/4 cup egg whites
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp baking powder
Couple shakes of cinnamon

Simply blend these ingredients together in a LARGE microwaveable container – I used a big glass casserole dish. When this puppy expands in the microwave, it gets CRAZY! It deflates to a more manageable size, but I like to add plenty of toppings, so the big dish is necessary. For toppings I used one cup of frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup of blueberries, 1/2 banana (still a little green), three big blobs of sugar free Cool Whip, and a generous helping of Log Cabin sugar free syrup. It was heaven in a casserole dish. But the best part is the nutritional facts about the protein cake itself. I usually make a regular, gluten free waffle for myself on Sundays, which is easily over 100g of carbs and almost zero protein. This baby packed a wallop! Please note, this is only for the cake itself and not my overload of toppings.

Protein Cake Stats
Calories: 300
Fat: 3g
Carbohydrates: 16g
Protein: 52g (!!)

When I make the gluten free, equivalent (prepared, not as on box), this is typically what it turns out to, just for the cake/waffle.

Standard Gluten Free Waffle
Calories: 420
Fat: 2g
Carbohydrates: 120 (!!)
Protein: 10g

I’m not a carb-o-phobe anymore, but I DO have blood sugar issues, and it’s no wonder I’d be shaky as a leaf shortly afterwards!


Please click on the photo of this beloved protein powder to learn more about the contents!

I’ve been really experimenting lately with carb vs. fat ratios in my diet. As I subscribed to the primal lifestyle for a while, I was a big supporter of lots of protein, almost as much fat, but as low carbs as possible (save vegetables). Since using the Leangains protocol, I’ve read that certain amounts of carbohydrates are necessary to muscle growth. On a primal diet, I managed to maintain somewhat decent muscle levels with little strength training, but when I DID strength train, I didn’t see a big difference, and I had awful muscle endurance. I didn’t really understand at the time what was going on. So now, I’m trying to eat some low carb, high fiber tortillas (17g of carb isn’t THAT low carb, though) with some chicken salad, instead of eating it in a salad directly after a workout. Or put my breakfast scramble into a tortilla. As long as I stick to my Intermittent Fasting Window, I’m really not concerned about any negative side effects :) As far as fat goes, Leangains suggests to eat more fat than normal on your non-workout day. For the past couple weeks, I had been eating almost entirely fat free on my cheat day, and since it’s working for me, I’ll probably continue to do so. It lets me eat my fat free ice cream once a week, and I need that to push through the rest of the week!

So, I’m about to start clearing the clutter out of one of the spare rooms … yikes. I’ve been meaning to do this since I got the stitches in my hand a couple weeks ago, but didn’t have much maneuverability with it. Now that it’s 80% healed, I think it will be just fine. Everything is either going into a tote or into a trash bag! Sometimes you just have to clear out stuff and be done with it!

So I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of their weekend, and tomorrow I’ll be back on my regular regimen. See you then!

Leave a Reply

  • None

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

